Quick and Easy Everyday Makeup Routine

Hey guys,

First off, best wishes for 2017! I hope it is a joy-filled, prosperous year for each and everyone of you. I have officially graduated from my undergrad studies, and I have started working at a new job. It’s extremely exciting, but I have also had to learn to adapt to the life of a working woman. No more dressing like a student, or sleeping in like a student, or even partying like a student.

I’ve noticed that I reach for the same makeup products daily, as I try to make myself look slightly more human in the seven minutes I have to spare in the morning. I decided to share this routine with you, because it is super quick and easy to achieve and it also uses very few products.

unnamed

The face products that I apply in order from left to right.

1.Primer

I start out everyday with my face makeup and the first thing I always do is prime my face. My primer of choice tends to vary, but when my skin is slightly more textured than usual I will opt for a smoothing, pore-filling primer. The one I have been loving lately is the L.A. Girl Pro Prep HD Smoothing face primer, available at Dis-Chem for R79,95.

2. BB Cream/Foundation

On a daily basis, I tend to avoid medium to full coverage foundations altogether. This is because I want something that feels lightweight and comfortable on my skin all day long, which is exactly what the Sorbet BB Cream gives me. It has enough coverage to give me an even, flawless base but it does not feel thick or cakey. Available in Sorbet Salon’s or online here for R120,00.

3. Concealer

Next I will apply some concealer underneath my eyes to conceal my dark circles, and brighten up my under-eye area to make me look fresh and awake. My number one drugstore concealer is the L.A. Girl Pro Conceal HD concealer in the shade Natural.  Available at Dis-Chem for R59,95.

4. Powder

I will then move on to set my entire face with powder to ensure that it will last throughout the day without creasing or slipping around my face. The powder that I will continue to repurchase is the Yardley Absolute Translucent Loose Powder, available at Clicks stores for R149,95.

unnamed-15

 

5. Bronzer

My ride or die bronzer is definitely the Benefit Hoola bronzer. I love that it is warm-toned enough to warm up your skin and give your face some colour, but it is not too warm so that it leaves your face looking orange. It is the perfect mid-toned bronzer that can be used for bronzing and light contouring all at once. Available at Red Square for R385,00 full size or R205,00 for a mini Hoola.

6. Highlight

Since I set my entire face with powder to make everything stay in place for longer, my skin will tend to look rather matte by now. This is when I grab a highlighting powder to bring some glow back into my skin. I will use the Catrice High Glow Mineral Highlighting Powder to apply to the tops of my cheekbones and a tiny bit down the bridge of my nose. It seems that this is no longer available at Dis-Chem, but I did find it here on Takealot.com for R98,00.

7. Setting Spray

I love finishing up my face makeup with a makeup setting spray. This will keep your makeup in place for a lot longer and will also leave your base looking flawless, as it takes away that cakey look that may come from using powder. The one I’ve been loving lately is the Essence Keep it Perfect! Makeup Fixing Spray. Available at Clicks or Dis-Chem stores for R59,95.

 

unnamed-5

I like to grab the same bronzer and highlighter that I used on my face and use it on my eyes.

8. Eye Makeup

Moving onto my eyes, I will take the same bronzer I used on my face that day and a fluffy crease brush, and I will dust that bronzer into my crease and some on my lower lash line. I will also use the same highlighter shade I used on my face, picking some up on my finger and placing this on the inner third of my eyelid to add some shimmer to my eyes. I will also apply mascara using the Essence Lash Princess and No7 Extravagant Volume mascara,  applying two coats of each.

unnamed-3

9. Brows

I will then pick up the Essence Brow Designer in 02 Brown and lightly fill in my brows to make them more even and defined.  Available at Clicks stores for R29,95.

10. Lips

Lastly, I will grab my favourite everyday peachy nude lipstick which is the Wet n’ Wild Megalast lipstick in the shade Bare It All. This is a beautiful colour and I love the formula of these because they have a matte finish but they are not drying at all. Available at Clicks stores for R48,95.

unnamed-4

Thank you for reading!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Everyday Makeup Routine

Leave a comment