Essence All About Nudes Eyeshadow Palette

In this post I share my thoughts on the Essence All About Nudes eyeshadow palette, as well as my three favourite looks to create using this palette.

Essence Cosmetics is a brand that has been around for ages – it’s probably the one brand I’ve consistently purchased, even from primary school days. It’s a super affordable brand with some amazing quality products. I’m not going to lie, some of their products are hit-and-miss, or at least they used to be. I have some products that I purchased years ago which I really, really disliked. However,  recently I’ve noticed that the more products I try of theirs the more I realize that they have seriously up’ed their game. The quality of Essence products continues to impress me with every new product I try.

csm_754315_9db34a2975

One of the products I’m super impressed with is this eyeshadow palette. I’ve owned it for over six months now and it’s one of my favourite palette’s to grab for a quick and easy makeup look. The packaging is really simple and basic, with a transparent plastic cover which I kind of hate and love. I love transparent cases for the ease of seeing the eyeshadow’s inside, especially if (like me) you have a lot of palette’s in one drawer. However I dislike it because after some use it gets super scratched up and dirty and becomes really unappealing to look at, but that really doesn’t bother me too much.

It contains eight decent sized eyeshadows, which are a mixture of matte and shimmers. The one thing I really like about this palette is that there are more matte shades, and the mattes are really good quality.

palette

This is my beat-up palette. Wanna guess which shades are my favourite?

Okay, let’s go through each shade. I’m going to start off with the top row, going left to right (as pictured above). I will also be including swatches.

A quick note about my swatches: I used the Wet ‘n Wild Photo Focus eyeshadow primer on my arm underneath the swatches, and they were done using a brush. I prefer seeing swatches this way, as this is how eyeshadows are usually used on the eye.

  1. The first shade in the top row is a beautiful creamy, bone-coloured matte eyeshadow. It is insanely pigmented, and amazing to use all over the lid as a base for the rest of your eyeshadows or as a brow bone highlight. I often take out this palette just to use this shade as my brow bone highlight, it’s definitely one of my faves.
  2. The second shade is a mid-toned light brown matte shade. It’s absolutely perfect as a transition shade, and you can tell how much I love it by the size of the pan peeking out. It’s not great in terms of pigmentation, but it is definitely buildable.
  3. Next we have a deeper matte brown which works amazingly in combination with the shade before. It’s perfect to deepen up the crease and outer corners.
  4. The last shade in the top row is an even darker cool-toned brown. It is not completely matte, it has a velvety-matte finish. It’s also perfect to use in the crease to deepen it up and add some dimension. It is quite patchy and takes a bit more effort to blend out, in comparison to the previous shades.
swatch3j

The first row. Swatches are done with an eyeshadow primer and a brush.

 

Let’s go through the second row;

  1. The first shade in the second row is a really cool pearly pink shade. It is one of the shimmery shades, but the pigmentation of this one isn’t great.
  2. Next is a super cool-toned grey beige colour. This is one of my least favourite’s in the palettes, simply because I’m not a huge fan of cool-toned eyeshadows. It’s perfect as a transition shade if you’re doing a cool-toned look.
  3. The next one is very similar to the previous one. It’s difficult to tell the difference between the two, except this one is slightly darker.
  4. The last one in this row is the second shimmery shadow in the palette. It is a dark brown, taupe shade with glitter. The pigmentation of this one is quite disappointing, and it doesn’t show up on the lids as metallic as it looks in the pan.

 

swtaxhbs

The second row.

Overall review:

I give this palette an 8/10. It’s beautiful and amazing quality. The only bad thing I have to say is that I often find myself only using the top row. The bottom row is way too cool-toned for me, and I am also not impressed with the shimmery shades.

The shadows are extremely soft and easy to blend out. It is the perfect palette for beginners, and people who are starting out with makeup and looking to build up their collection. It is comprised of eight neutral, cool-toned shades which will work for a wide variety of skin tones. It’s available at any Clicks here or Dis-Chem nationwide for an average of R89,95. I mean… R89,95?! You literally cannot beat that. It’s a steal and I highly recommend it.

Now for the exciting part (if you’ve made it this far). I have created three of my favourite looks to create using this palette.

img_8949

Look One is my favourite everyday soft and natural makeup look paired with a peachy nude lip.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Look Two is a light eyeshadow look paired with a bold wing and bold lips. I always reach for this palette when I am doing bold lips and just want a soft, neutral eye paired with it.

img_9587

Look three is a sultry, dark smokey eye.

Thank you for reading!

xoxo

Check out my instagram page: @danicaraemakeup

2 thoughts on “Essence All About Nudes Eyeshadow Palette

Leave a Reply

