How To Clean Your Makeup Brushes

Today’s blog topic is brush cleaning… and it’s important!

I honestly cannot stress this enough. I know of far too many people who never wash their brushes for years after purchasing them. *Cringe*. Every time you use your brushes they’re collecting bacteria, dead skin cells, and other nasty dirt that is getting absorbed by your skin every time you re-use these dirty brushes. I have extremely sensitive skin and I notice that when I haven’t cleaned my brushes for longer than usual, my skin will suffer from terrible break-outs. This is the reason I find it absolutely crucial to develop a brush cleaning routine and stick to it. It is also important with regards to the maintenance of your brushes, as they will last a lot longer when you are taking proper care of them. One last advantage of cleaning your brushes is that there is a noticeable difference in the application of your makeup when you are using clean brushes. I always look so forward to doing my makeup for the first time after a brush wash because I know my makeup will turn out looking extra flawless.

For the record, I am not a professional. This is just the method I have tried and found to work perfectly for me. It’s inexpensive and requires no fancy tools.

What to use: 

When it comes to what product to use for brush cleaning, the one theory I have is that I wouldn’t use anything to clean my brushes that I wouldn’t be comfortable putting on my face. So I wouldn’t use any harsh soaps, dishwashing liquids, or anything like that. I often switch between using the face wash I use to cleanse my skin, or baby shampoo. I am sure you’ve heard many people talking about using baby shampoo to wash your brushes, and it makes sense right? If it’s gentle enough to be used on a baby, I’m definitely okay with putting it on my skin. Of course the fact that it is a shampoo is beneficial for your brushes as it is aimed at cleaning and moisturizing hair, so it will leave your brushes soft and clean. I always purchase the Clicks brand baby shampoo, which is R35,95 for a 500ml bottle that will last for an incredibly long time.

unnamed-2

How often:

I know what a mission cleaning makeup brushes can be especially if, like me, you own about 30 more than what you actually need. Obviously, the amount of times you need to wash them depends on how often you’re using them. I use my brushes everyday for a simple, light application of makeup and then on the weekend for more a dramatic makeup application. I aim to wash my makeup brushes every second week, and at the absolute maximum every third week but that it is very rare for me to leave it for that long. Once a month is a good place to start, but please for the leave of all that is holy do not leave it longer than months at a time before washing your brushes. It takes 10 minutes out of your day, and trust me the benefits outweigh the laziness. This is coming from a world-class lazy person, by the way.

How to do it:

The steps are so simple! Start by rinsing your brushes with lukewarm water to get the bristles wet, and then apply a drop of the baby shampoo onto the bristles. Next, massage the brush in a circular motion on the palm of your hand until the shampoo starts to foam. Finally, rinse the brush with water until all the shampoo has been washed out. Sometimes I will have to repeat this two or three times, depending on how dirty my brushes are. Lay your brushes flat on a towel and leave them to dry overnight.

unnamed-3

Simple, eh? Enjoy your sparkly clean and baby-soft brushes!

unnamed-4

Thank you for reading!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “How To Clean Your Makeup Brushes

Leave a Reply

