Makeup Stash – Primers

Welcome back, friends!

I am officially that person who has to de-clutter my makeup collection because I just have too! much! stuff! So, I decided that the best way to do it would be to go through my makeup collection with you, here on my blog, and show you what I love & what I am getting rid of.  I am always quick to hoard things because “I might need it later”, so the rules are simple; if I don’t like it or haven’t used it within the last few months, it goes!

Disclaimer: by “getting rid of” I mean I am either giving it away to friends or family, I would never throw away makeup… Unless of course it’s old and expired.

Today I am going to be going through all of the primers that I own. I use a primer before foundation every single time I do my makeup, and I am always reaching for a different one based on what I want it to do. If my skin is feeling extra dry, I will reach for a moisturizing cream primer or if my skin has some texture, I will reach for a smoothing gel primer. Most of the time I will use a smoothing primer in the center of my face where my pores tend to be larger, and a moisturizing primer over the rest of my face.

FullSizeRender (9)

The acrylic storage drawers that I keep my makeup in are from Dis-Chem!

Alright so let’s start out with drugstore…

IMG_1346.JPG

From left to right:

  • Max Factor X: Facefinity All Day Primer

This primer has a cream formula, which is great if you are looking for a boost of moisture for your skin. It claims to extend the wear of your foundation and has SPF 20. This is one that I’ll be getting rid of, not because I have a specific problem with it but because I never find myself reaching for it. I don’t even remember the last time I have used it. Byeee.

  • Catrice Cosmetics: Prime and Fine Beautifying Primer

I loooove this. I’ve mentioned this primer in a monthly favourite’s before, which you can read about here. In fact I am almost all out of this one, but I will definitely be repurchasing it.

  • Maybelline: Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser

This is a smoothing primer with a gel formula. Honestly, I am never blown away by this primer and I don’t really notice a huge difference when I use it. I’ve had this for ages, but I still find myself reaching for it. It’s almost completely finished, so I will continue to use it BUT I don’t see myself ever repurchasing this again.

  • L.A. Girl: Pro Prep HD Smoothing Face Primer

As with the Maybelline primer, I never find that there is a noticeable difference when I use this primer. There’s actually almost no difference between the two, except this one has slightly more of a greasy feeling. I am not in love, neither I am loathsome towards it. I do still reach for it so I will use it up but again, this is not on my list to repurchase.

Now for my high end baby primers. I tend to go between these primers when I am doing makeup for a special event because unlike the drugstore ones, I always notice a difference when I use these!

IMG_1347.JPG

From left to right:

  • No7: Airbrush Away Primer

I love this! It was actually part of a gift that I got from family friends in the UK, and I’m not entirely sure if we can get the brand No7 here in South Africa. It has a cream formula but it seems to moisturize and smooth out my skin at the same time. I really enjoy this primer and tend to save it for special occasions because I don’t want it to end.

  • Smashbox: Photo Finish Foundation Primer

This primer has a gel formula, and I always notice a difference in the application and finish of my foundation when I have used this. However, I don’t find myself reaching for this as much as my other primers, simply because it isn’t mind-blowing to me. It’s staying, however I won’t be repurchasing it in a hurry.

  • Benefit: Porefessional Primer

The cult favourite! There’s a reason this primer is loved by everyone. It does a good job of smoothing out the skin which makes your foundation go on flawlessly. It’s definitely staying, and I would definitely repurchase.

That’s it for my primer collection! I hope you enjoyed this, stay tuned for the rest of my makeup collection.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

