13 Reasons Why

Welcome back!

Today I’m going to be sharing some of my thoughts about the show that everyone is talking about. I watched it knowing what it was about, so yes, I expected it to be intense. I was not, however, prepared for just how intense it really is. I didn’t want to do an in-depth analysis because I know that there are still plenty of people who haven’t watched it yet. I just felt compelled to write some kind of warning that I wish I had read before I watched it. I was not prepared for all the things this show made me feel all at once and honestly at this particular point in my life, I really could have done without watching it.

Firstly, let’s get something straight; I am all about literature, film and art being disturbing to the point where we feel uncomfortable reading, watching or viewing it. That’s when it’s most effective, right? Absolutely. That’s when people actually start to notice and pay attention. Thirteen Reasons Why does an incredible job of doing this.  One of the things that struck me hard is that the screen never blacks out. The screen doesn’t black out at the peak of the rape scene, and it doesn’t black out when she slits her wrists. It just doesn’t black out, and that’s what we’re used to, that’s what I was expecting. It’s incredibly hard to watch which makes it incredibly powerful.

Yes, I do think that everyone needs to watch it, but at the same time people need to know that this show could definitely be a trigger if you’ve ever dealt with depression, if you’ve ever had suicidal thoughts, if you are a victim of sexual abuse or if you’ve ever been bullied. It deals with these issues vividly and it’s important for people to know that.

What we need to understand is that there are two groups of people watching this show.

  1. People who have experienced something similar.
  2. People who haven’t.

I agree with all the posts saying that everyone needs to watch this to raise awareness about suicide and depression and to help people understand it. I agree with that because people desperately need to understand it. But…my question is; what about the group of people who have gone through or are currently going through something similar? They already know it, they already understand it better than anyone else. Does this still help them?

13-Reasons-Why-GIFs

I think that people who have watched this show can agree that the most powerful lesson behind it all is that you never truly know what someone is going through. Think before you speak. Think before you act. There is no way to know what battle someone is fighting inside their heads, and there is no way to know what word or action might push them over the edge, no matter how insignificant it may seem to you. Be kind, be caring.

Lastly, to the person I could have helped, but didn’t because I thought I had more time;

I’m sorry I let you down,

I’m sorry we all let you down.

I miss you every single day.

 

Leave a Reply

